Archives by Day

May 2018

About Judy

As WP's managing editor, I edit review and preview articles, attempt to keep up with the frantic pace of Rainier's news posts, and keep our reviewers on deadline, which is akin to herding cats. When I have a moment to myself and don't have my nose in a book, I like to play action/RPG, adventure and platforming games.


'Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas' (PS2) - Soundtrack Details

by Judy on Oct. 18, 2004 @ 8:31 a.m. PDT

Rockstar Games and Interscope Records announced today the release of a soundtrack to Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, the next installment in the best-selling Grand Theft Auto franchise. The double CD and 8 CD box set are scheduled for release on November 23rd in the US and November 22nd in Europe.

As a bonus the official soundtrack double CD will feature a separate stand-alone DVD containing 'The Introduction', the cinematic prologue to Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. 'The Introduction' tells the full story of the events leading up to CJs return to San Andreas. Why was he forced to come back? What is he leaving behind and what is he really walking into? This exclusive prequel is not available anywhere else and has been crafted with the highest production standards Rockstar is famous for. Look for some familiar faces making a surprise return.

With the game set in the early 1990s, the Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas soundtrack will feature a large variety of tracks spanning the FM radio dial of the West Coast during this particularly influential period in American music and culture. The double CD will feature a mix of select tracks from Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas' many in-game radio stations while each album of the 8 CD box set will replicate a music station from the game featuring a broader selection of tracks ranging from contemporary west coast and classic east coast hip-hop, funk, rare groove, new jack swing and contemporary soul, alternative rock, classic rock, reggae and country.

In-game radio stations have become one of the signature aspects of the Grand Theft Auto franchise, delivering a realistic radio experience by allowing players to tune the radio station in the huge selection of vehicles in the game to any station they like, complete with hours of satirical commercials and DJ banter that cleverly parodies a wide mix of radio formats. The radio stations in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas will feature the most staggering selection of music ever assembled for a video game with over one-hundred and fifty tracks from artists including James Brown, Willie Nelson, 2 Pac, and Rage Against the Machine plus many, many more that encompass a great deal of the radio spectrum of the early 90's.

The double CD also includes as a bonus track an exclusive cover of the Nine Inch Nails early 90s industrial staple "Head Like A Hole" by Northern Californian punk band AFI, who formed in 1991. The track has been recorded by AFI specifically for the Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas soundtrack album and as a tribute to this unique era in music.

The complete track listing for the double CD is as follows:

CD 1

  1. The Theme From San Andreas
  2. Rage Against The Machine - Killing In The Name
  3. 2 Pac - I Don't Give A Fuck
  4. James Brown - The Payback
  5. Ronnie Hudson - West Coast Poplock
  6. Guy - Groove Me
  7. Eddie Money - Two Tickets To Paradise
  8. Cypress Hill - How I Could Just Kill A Man
  9. The Maytals - Pressure Drop
  10. Slick Rick - Children's Story
  11. Rick James - Cold Blooded
  12. Raze - Break 4 Love

CD 2

  1. Ohio Players - Funky Worm
  2. Heart - Barracuda
  3. Compton's Most Wanted - Hood Took Me Under
  4. Lyn Collins - Think About It
  5. Public Enemy - Rebel Without A Pause
  6. Faith No More - Midlife Crisis
  7. Bell Biv Devoe - Poison
  8. Max Romeo & The Upsetters - Chase The Devil
  9. Eric B & Rakim - I Know You Got Soul
  10. Willie Nelson - Crazy

Bonus Track:
11. AFI - Head Like A Hole

blog comments powered by Disqus