Archives by Day

May 2018

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'DAoC: Trials of Atlantis' Now Available For Free

by Rainier on Nov. 2, 2005 @ 1:37 a.m. PST

Mythic Entertainment today announced that its third Dark Age of Camelot expansion Trials of Atlantis is available to all current and retired players as a free download. All accounts have been activated to allow access to the expansion content.

Players can download the "Trials of Atlantis" files at Former players returning to the game can re-activate their account, regain their original characters and take advantage of the online availability of the expansion.

"Trials of Atlantis" requires the original "Dark Age of Camelot" and "Shrouded Isles" expansion to play. These games are available as a single, convenient 14-day free trial at

"Trials of Atlantis," the 3rd expansion to "Dark Age of Camelot," opens a whole new world as players discover the secrets of the famed lost civilization of Atlantis. Foreseeing the demise of their society, the ancient people of Atlantis, possessors of extremely powerful magical lore, built a series of trials into the ruins of their once great culture. Players can take on the nine trials and unlock new mysterious powers while mastering the perilous ocean and confronting terrifying monsters.

Dark Age of Camelot is a massively-multiplayer online role-playing game ("MMORPG") featuring Realm vs. RealmTM combat, Mythic's unique take on Player vs. Player action, multiple class and race combinations, a robust trade skill system, and the most comprehensive player Guild system in any MMORPG. The world of "Dark Age of Camelot" features three Realms at war – Midgard, Hibernia and Albion. Based on the mythologies of Viking-era Scandinavia, ancient Ireland, and Arthurian Britain, respectively, the once-peaceful Realms began to battle after the death of King Arthur. Players quest, fight monsters, form guilds and eventually gain enough power to defend their Realm from enemies.

"Trials of Atlantis" is designed to challenge high-level players by introducing a Master Level advancement system. As a player moves sequentially through each of the nine trials, they will achieve a corresponding Master Level. With each Master Level, players gain new Atlantean Master Abilities, each with its own unique capabilities and skills. Emphasizing group play, the trials are designed to be tackled by groups of players. Players are able to travel by boat, explore islands within the ruins, swim to submerged dungeons, and battle new creatures in underwater caves. Additionally, "Trials of Atlantis" features three new races, dozens of original monsters, as well as quests to discover and treasures to reclaim.

For more information about "Trials of Atlantis," visit

blog comments powered by Disqus