Archives by Day

True Crime: New York City

Platform(s): GameCube, PC, PlayStation 2, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Luxoflux
Release Date: Nov. 15, 2005

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'True Crime: New York City' (NGC/PS2/Xbox/PC) - Soundtrack Revealed

by Rainier on Nov. 4, 2005 @ 12:54 p.m. PST

True Crime: New York City will follow another policeman through the meticulously re-created streets of a real-life metropolitan area. However, instead of the wisecracking LAPD detective Nick Kang, gamers will now play as Marcus Reed, a former gang member turned NYPD officer. <br><br>In the game, players take on the role of former gang member turned cop Marcus Reed as they fight crime on the GPS-accurate streets of Manhattan, complete with subways, hundreds of interiors, internationally recognized landmarks and real neighborhoods from Harlem to Chinatown to Times Square. Players will navigate the city the way New Yorkers do, by taking cabs, riding subways, walking and driving cars and motorcycles.

The in-game soundtrack features licensed tracks from some of the biggest names in music from Bob Dylan, The Ramones and Blondie to Run DMC, Public Enemy and DMX, as well as new music from Redman, including “Rush The Security” from his upcoming album Red Gone Wild and two original tracks written for the game. True Crimeƒ: New York City, set to hit store shelves on November 16, also features an in-game customizable play list option that allows gamers to order the music based on their personal taste.

“When we moved the True Crime franchise to the one and only New York City we compiled a soundtrack to match the look and feel of the game,” said Tim Riley, worldwide executive of music at Activision. “Many of the artists on the soundtrack helped define the city’s music scene including Jay-Z, Fat Joe, A Tribe Called Quest, New York Dolls, The Velvet Underground, My Chemical Romance, The Bravery and Iggy and the Stooges, among others, making this soundtrack the ultimate New York experience.”


  • Redman – “True Crime”
  • Redman –“True Crime (Bonus track)”


  • Redman – “Rush the Security”
  • Cam'Ron featuring Jay-Z – “Welcome to NYC”
  • Run D.M.C. – “Sucker MC's”
  • Kool Moe Dee – “Wild Wild West”
  • The Sugarhill Gang – “Rapper's Delight”
  • Public Enemy – “Bring The Noise (Chuck D Mix)”
  • DMX – “Where The Hood At”
  • Busta Rhymes – “Put Your Hands Where my Eyes Can See”
  • Agnostic Front – “Police State”
  • Bad Brains – “I Against I”
  • Bob Dylan – “Knockin' On Heaven's Door”
  • Danzig - “Mother”
  • The Ramones - “Beat on The Brat”
  • Interpol – “Slow hands”
  • Wu-Tang Clan – “Protect Ya Neck”
  • Jungle Brothers – “Straight Out The Jungle”
  • Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – “New York New York”
  • Hatebreed – “Another Day, Another Vendetta”
  • Misfits – “Last Caress”
  • Blondie – “Hangin by the Telephone”
  • Sonic Youth – “Kool Thing”
  • Skarhead – “New York Crime”
  • Dope – “The Life”
  • Kool G Rap and DJ Polo – “Streets of New York”
  • Biz Markie – “I'm The Biz”
  • Big Daddy Kane – “Ain't No Half Steppin'”
  • 24-7 Spyz – “Yeah X 3”
  • Suicide – “Ghostrider”
  • Iggy & The Stooges – “Search and Destroy”
  • New York Dolls – “Subway Train”
  • Bloodsimple – “Blood In Blood Out”
  • Biohazard – “Shades of Grey”
  • Gang Starr - “Full Clip”
  • Big Punisher – “Twinz (Deep Cover)”
  • Vision of Disorder – “Imprint”
  • Mandrill – “Echoes In My Mind”
  • The Damned – “Neat Neat Neat”
  • The Velvet Underground – “I'm Waiting For the Man”
  • Helmet – “Unsung”
  • The Rapture – “The Killing”
  • Black Star – “Definition”
  • NaS – “N.Y. State Of Mind”
  • Slick Rick – “Children's Story”
  • Youth Of Today – “Break Down The Walls”
  • Cramps – “Wrong Way Ticket”
  • The Casualties – “Sounds from the streets (Death Toll)”
  • White Zombie – “Thunder Kiss 65”
  • Unsane – “D train”
  • A Tribe Called Quest – “Scenario”
  • Mark Ronson – “Bout To Get Ugly”
  • X-ecutioners – “Let Me Rock”
  • Black Rob – “Woah!”
  • Madball – “Pride (Times are Changing)”
  • Richard Hell And The Voidoids – “Blank Generation”
  • The Walkmen – “The Rat”
  • Kurtis Blow – “The Breaks”
  • Black Sheep – “The Choice Is Yours (Revisited)”
  • De La Soul – “Thru Ya City”
  • Gorilla Biscuits – “New Direction”
  • Eric B & Rakim – “Paid in Full”
  • Afrika Bambaataa & Soul Force – “Planet Rock”
  • Sam Scarfo – “Homicide”
  • Bobby Womack – “Across 110th Street”
  • Marley Marl – “The Symphony”
  • My Chemical Romance – “I Never Told You What I Did For A Living”
  • Mobb Deep – “Shook Ones Pt. II”
  • Quicksand – “East 3rd Street”
  • Vordul Mega – “Neva Again”
  • Black Moon – “Who Got The Props?”
  • Jeru the Damaja – “D. Original”
  • Leaders Of The New School – “Case of the P.T.A.”
  • LL Cool J – “I Can't Live With Out My Radio”
  • Sick of It All – “Potential For A Fall”
  • The A.K.A.'s – “Shout Out Loud”
  • Blue Oyster Cult – “Don't Fear the Reaper”
  • Digable Planets – “Rebirth Of Slick (Cool Like dat)”
  • Murphy's Law – “Crucial Bar-B-Que”
  • Yeah Yeah Yeah's – “Black Tongue”
  • Harley's War – “Criminal (4 Life)”
  • The Bravery – “Honest Mistake”
  • Television – “See No Evil”
  • We Are Scientists – “Callbacks”

True Crime: New York City is being developed by Luxoflux for the PS2, Xbox, and GameCube and has been rated “M” (“Mature” – Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs) by the ESRB.

Related articles, Click here!

More articles about True Crime: New York City
blog comments powered by Disqus