Archives by Day

May 2018

Guild Wars Nightfall

Platform(s): PC
Genre: Online Multiplayer
Publisher: NCSoft
Developer: ArenaNet

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'Guild Wars Nightfall' - 13 New Screens

by Rainier on Aug. 30, 2006 @ 8:06 p.m. PDT

Guild Wars Nightfall takes place on the continent of Elona, Land of the Golden Sun, which has fallen under the shadow of an evil, outcast god. The people of Elona will need more than a hero to save them, they will need a hero to lead them ... for nightfall is at hand.

In this third Guild Wars campaign, players must fight to hold back the night as a mad ruler attempts to free an outcast god and bring darkness to the continent of Elona. But players won't fight alone. Guild Wars Nightfall introduces new customizable Heroes who level up, follow player instructions in combat, and use skills and equipment of the player's choosing. These Heroes will follow the player through savage coasts, ancient monuments, and poisonous deserts during an epic story that spans twenty missions and hundreds of quests. And for the ultimate one-on-one challenge, competitive players can choose to enter the new Hero vs. Hero Battles, where they group with a custom team of Heroes and fight against other players from around the world and their customized groups of Heroes.

The Paragon:

The Paragon is a brilliant battle commander who wields a shield and throwing spears, using a variety of verbal chants and shouts to provide temporary empowering boosts to themselves and their allies. Through their insight, Paragons can also help allies resist hexes and conditions. The Paragon's armor is ornate and usually made of a mixture of metal and leather inset with ivory, mother of pearl, and other semiprecious materials. Paragon armor has an angelic motif, usually in the form of wings engraved onto the metal plates.

Paragons are the guardian angels of the Elonian people, chosen by the gods to serve as emissaries among mortals and serve as that land's champions against malevolent threats. Each has experienced an event in their early lives where they should have died, but did not. They ascribe their survival to the gods themselves, and dedicate their lives as the gods' servants in the mortal world.

The Dervish:

Dervishes are scythe-wielding holy warriors who can attack multiple enemies at once. Because the broad sweep of a swinging scythe can strike multiple foes at once, the Dervish seeks the very heart of a battle. The Dervish will calmly and intently cast spells on themselves even while surrounded by foes, and suddenly unleash a flurry of devastating, whirling, scythe attacks. The Dervish has a variety of combat-related enchantments and inherent healing and protection abilities. Their greatest power, however, is that of transformation. The Dervish, when roused, may channel divine powers and change their form to temporarily become the physical embodiment of a god.

The Dervish's attire is a testament to the dual nature of the Dervish as both a priest and a warrior. They wear a robe to show their faith in the divine, bracers to demonstrate their prowess in combat, and a hood to mark their humility before the gods. This garb provides limited armor, but the Dervish is shielded in battle by their agility and by the enchantments that they cast upon themselves. These enchantments make them resistant to injury, turn aside the attacks of their foes, and lend elemental power to their attacks.

Guild Wars Nightfall will continue the tradition of inviting players to immerse themselves in an epic storyline centered in a vibrant fantasy setting, build personalised characters, compete in head-to-head battles with players from around the world, and find adventure in missions and quests, in a Guild Wars game unlike any player have seen before.

Related articles, Click here!

More articles about Guild Wars Nightfall
blog comments powered by Disqus