Archives by Day

May 2018

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'The Chronicles of Spellborn' Death's Dream Timeline - Screens

by Rainier on July 21, 2008 @ 4:30 p.m. PDT

The Chronicles of Spellborn is an MMORPG set in the Enclave of the Five Sacrifices. Developed by Dutch studio Spellborn, previously known for Alpha Black Zero, it uses the Unreal 2.5 Engine.

Developed by Spellborn International, The Chronicles of Spellborn will introduce gameplay that challenges MMO gaming conventions. No longer will back stories be irrelevant, players will move back and forth in time to experience the storyline. The Spellborn team has thrown out the old "auto lock" MMO attack system. Players will actively maneuver and aim in combat while they manipulate a "skill deck" that allows them to string together hundreds of different possible attack combinations. Also, armour and weapons do NOT affect combat so players can dress exactly how they like from the very start. Finally, the successes and failures of every player from the lowest to the highest levels will determine the fate of their House and the rest of the world.

Players selected to participate in the closed beta will be the first ones to experience this new model in MMO gaming. They will assist the developers in testing gameplay and provide feedback directly to the developers. The closed beta test began with a limited number of applicants. More beta testers will be added periodically over the next few months. In early 2006, the Spellborn International team plans to hold a large-scale open/stress beta test.

The Chronicles of Spellborn Timeline

- The Great Collapse (year 0)

- Death’s Dream (0 - 500 AC)

To most scholars it is unknown what has happened in this period. Some of them are not even convinced it lasted a full 500 years. What is known is that the remnants of the world - the various Shards and Fragments - are covered in Undying Ice during this period and that all survivors of the Great Collapse are frozen in time, trapped within a deep slumber.

Want To Know More?

Shards: The Shards are remnant pieces of the Ancestor World floating within the Deadspell Storm. They usually shield their interior habitat (oppidan and levee) from outside influences with a gigantic carapace (consisting out of an inner and an outer carapace) stretching over it. Shards should not be confused with Fragments, which might be as large but lack a carapace. Nor should they be confused with Raftyards, which are considerably smaller, also lack a carapace and are man-made.

Oppidan: The inhabited pieces of land from the Ancestor World locked inside a Shard.
Outer Carapace: The outer rock shell of a Shard. Often has a recognizable form.
Focal Aperture(s): The hole(s) which reach through both carapaces allowing light coming from the Deadspell Storm to shine inside.
Inner Carapace: The inner rock shell of a Shard. The form of the inner carapace almost never follows that of the outside carapace.
Levee: The space inside a Shard which is not occupied by the Oppidan. It is often considerably larger than the Oppidan functionally requires.


Known Shards: Parliament, Ringfell, Quarterstone, Mount of Heroes.


Mount of Heroes

Fragments: Fragments are like small Shards, yet they lack a carapace and constantly bathe unprotected in the swirling light of the Deadspell Storm. Life is possible and sustainable on them, although beings are subject to more violent manifestations of the Deadspell Storm, whether that be entities or rogue magic storms.
Known Fragments: The Athenaeum, Hood’s Belfry...

Undying Ice: Magical ice that instantly encased all the created Shards and Fragments directly after the Great Collapse. It is believed to have formed after the magical energies of the Altar of the Undying were set free, thus it is assumed that the Ice is a direct consequence of destroying the Altar. Melting it requires a piece of the Altar itself to be hold in contact with it.

What differentiates ‘The Chronicles of Spellborn’ from other MMORPG?

  • Dress to impress: From day 1 you will be able to look cool by choosing and changing clothes, armors, weapons, skills.
  • Influencing the world with your actions: This ranges from lifelike statues of your character in Quarterstone to unlocking and owning new parts of the worlds through questing, politics and conquest.
  • ‘Join and play’, you don’t have to walk whole marathons before the fun starts.
  • ‘The Chronicles of Spellborn’ combat system based on skill decks. You will be able to create your own individual fighting style.

The Chronicles of Spellborn is currently scheduled for release in autumn 2008.

blog comments powered by Disqus