Archives by Day

Guitar Hero: World Tour

Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, Wii, Xbox 360
Genre: Rhythm
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Budcat Creations
Release Date: Oct. 26, 2008

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'Guitar Hero: World Tour' (ALL) Preliminary Tracklist #3 - Screen & Trailer

by Rainier on Aug. 8, 2008 @ 11:32 a.m. PDT

Guitar Hero: World Tour will feature guitar, vocals, drums, the ability to create your own songs (and upload them on GHTunes), four-player on/offline co-op, and an eight-player battle of the bands multiplayer mode (4vs4).

Get the Guitar Hero World Tour [ALL] Trailer off WP (70mb)

Guitar Hero World Tour will transform music gaming by marrying Guitar Hero’s exhilarating guitar gameplay, with a cooperative band experience that combines the most advanced wireless instruments with revolutionary new online and offline gameplay modes. The game will feature a slick newly redesigned guitar, a genuine electronic drum kit and a microphone, as well as an innovative Music Studio music creator that lets players compose, record, edit and share their own rock and roll anthems, along with online Band Career and 8-player “Battle of the Bands.”

Delivering the largest on-disc set list in a music-rhythm game to-date, Guitar Hero World Tour is comprised entirely of master recordings from some of the greatest classic and modern rock bands of all-time including Van Halen, Linkin Park, The Eagles, Sublime and many more. Additionally, the game will offer significantly more localized downloadable music than ever before on all of the next-generation consoles. Budding rock stars will also be given creative license to fully customize everything from their characters’ appearance and instruments to their band’s logo and album covers.

In addition to a newly designed more responsive guitar controller and microphone, Guitar Hero World Tour will deliver the most realistic drum experience ever in a video game with an authentic electronic drum kit. Featuring three drum pads, two raised cymbals and a bass kick pedal, the drum controller combines larger and quieter, velocity-sensitive drum heads with soft rubber construction to deliver authentic bounce back and is easy to set up, move, break down and store.

Budding rockstars around the world will have the opportunity to live out their ultimate fantasy on the virtual OZZFest stage, playing as Ozzy, or alongside him, as he wails to iconic rock track “Crazy Train” and “Mr. Crowley,” both from his quintuple platinum debut solo album Blizzard of Ozz. OZZFest, now it its 13th year, has also been created digitally as an in-game venue exclusively for Guitar Hero World Tour to host the heavy metal rock legend.

Joining Ozzy in Guitar Hero World Tour as a playable character is his lead axe-shredder and founder of Black Label Society, Zakk Wylde, performing their hit track “Stillborn.”

In addition to Metallica releasing their highly anticipated Death Magnetic album in its entirety as downloadable content in both Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock and Guitar Hero World Tour, the 2008 OZZFest performers and Grammy winning recording artists will be appearing for their on-disc encore with “Trapped Under Ice.” Finally, taking the Guitar Hero┬« stage for the first time is fellow OZZFest artist, System of a Down with their 2006 Grammy for Best Hard Rock Performance winning single “B.Y.O.B.”

Preliminary track/band list :

  • Airbourne - Too Much Too Young...
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Weapon of Choice
  • Bob Seger - Hollywood Nights
  • Dinosaur Jr. - Feel The pain
  • Silversun Pickups - Lazy Eye
  • Survivor - Eye of the Tiger
  • Black Label Society - Stillborn
  • Metallica - "Trapped Under Ice
  • System of a Down - B.Y.O.B.
  • Blink 182 - Dammit - Blink 182
  • Linkin Park - What I've Done
  • Paramore - Misery Business - Paramore
  • The Doors - Love Me Two Times
  • the Eagles - Hotel California

Previously confirmed track/band list :

  • Sublime - Santeria
  • Billy Idol - Rebel Yell
  • Foo Fighters - Everlong
  • Van Halen - Hot for Teacher
  • At the Drive-In - One Armed Scissor
  • Jimi Hendrix - Purple Haze (Live)
  • Jimi Hendrix - The Wind Cries Mary
  • Steve Miller Band - The Joker
  • Interpol - Obstacle 1
  • The Doors - Light My Fire
  • Beat It - Michael Jackson
  • Linkin Park - In The End
  • Lenny Kravitz - Are You Gonna Go My Way
  • Smashing Pumpkins - Bullet with Butterfly Wings
  • Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train
  • Ozzy Osbourne - Mr. Crowley

Guitar Hero World Tour delivers more ways to play than ever before. Virtual musicians can live out their rock and roll fantasies by playing either a single instrument, or any combination of instruments, in addition to the full band experience. In addition to all of the online gameplay modes from Guitar Hero® III: Legends of Rock, Guitar Hero World Tour introduces Battle of the Bands mode which allows eight players to join online and challenge each other band-to-band to determine who is the best of the best. In the Band modes, up to four players can jam together, online or off, as they progress through the game, and in single-player Career Mode, players can jam on any of the instruments in branching venue progression enabling them to rock out in the order of their choice.

The game’s innovative new Music Studio lets players express their musical creativity by giving them access to a full compliment of tools to create digital music from scratch, utilizing all of the instruments, and then play their compositions in the game. Music creators will also be able to share their recordings with their friends online through GHTunes where other gamers can download their unique compositions and play them.

Guitar Hero World Tour, currently scheduled for fall 2008, is being developed by Neversoft Entertainment for the Xbox 360 and PS3. The Wii version is being developed by Vicarious Visions, while the PS3 edition is being developed by Budcat..

More articles about Guitar Hero: World Tour
blog comments powered by Disqus