Archives by Day

Rock Band Unplugged

Platform(s): PSP
Genre: Rhythm
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Developer: Harmonix

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'Rock Band Unplugged' (PSP) Gets Five New Downloadable Tracks

by Rainier on July 9, 2009 @ 7:15 a.m. PDT

Rock Band Unplugged will allow players to take the game on the road for the very first time. Rock Band Unplugged will take center stage as it leverages the PSP’s Wi-Fi capabilities and include a fully-featured in-game store for downloadable content in the North American and Europeans markets.

Rock Band Unplugged creates a full band experience in the palm of your hand by combining traditional beat match gameplay with key elements from both Rock Band and Rock Band 2, such as overdrive and chords. Your hands are the "peripherals" in Rock Band Unplugged allowing you to take direct control of the lead/bass guitars, drums and vocals. In addition, players can expect a rich Rock Band experience with fully functional modes like World Tour, Band Survival and Warm Up and a robust character creator for full customization!

Rock Band Unplugged will feature over 40 master-recordings including nine brand new, exclusive songs for the PSP for a limited time! Plus, Rock Band Unplugged will include the first fully-featured in-game store for downloadable content on the PSP in the North American and European markets, leveraging the PSP's wireless capabilities. The in-game store will be powered by PlayStation Network, and players will be able to use their existing PlayStation Network account to purchase tracks, similar to the Rock Band console experience. PSP owners will also have the option of purchasing tracks via PlayStation Store on the PC.

Rock Band is the ultimate platform for music fans and gamers to interact with music like never before. The game challenges players to put together a band and tour for fame and fortune - all while learning to master lead/bass guitar, drums and vocals. Featuring the most master recordings of any music game ever by the world's biggest rock artists, Rock Band includes tracks that span every genre of rock ranging from alternative and classic rock, to heavy metal and punk.

This latest update brings another wide variety of musical genres to the game, including country music trio The Dixie Chicks, electric blues guitarist Stevie Ray Vaughan and alternative rock groups R.E.M. and The Pixies.

Rock Band Unplugged features the first in-game store for downloadable content on the PSP system in the North American and European markets, leveraging the PSP system’s wireless capabilities. The in-game store is powered by the PlayStation®Network. Players can simply sign in to the in-game music store using their existing PlayStation Network account to purchase and download new tracks straight on their PSP system. PSP system owners can also purchase tracks via the PlayStation®Store on their PC and then download them to their device.


  • Dixie Chicks: Sin Wagon
  • GLaDOS and Jonathan Coulton: Still Alive (Free Track)
  • The Pixies: Here Comes Your Man
  • R.E.M.: Losing My Religion
  • Stevie Ray Vaughan: Pride and Joy

(All tracks are original master recordings)

Price: $1.99 per track

Location: In-game Rock Band Unpluggedmusic store.

Rock Band Unplugged will include a single-player World Tour taking you across 24 cities, and feature more than 40 master recordings from classic & current bands.

Complete track list

  • 2000s
    • AFI - Miss Murder
    • All-American Rejects - Move Along
    • Audioslave - Gasoline
    • Black Tide - Show Me the Way
    • Freezepop - Less Talk More Rokk
    • Jimmy Eat World - The Middle
    • The Killers - Mr. Brightside
    • Lacuna Coil - Our Truth
    • Lamb of God - Laid to Rest
    • Modest Mouse - Float On
    • Queens of the Stone Age - 3’s and 7’s
    • System of a Down - Chop Suey!
    • Tenacious D - Rock Your Socks
  • 1990s
    • 3 Doors Down - Kryptonite
    • Alice in Chains - Would?
    • Blink 182 - What’s My Age Again
    • Foo Fighters - Everlong
    • Judas Priest - Painkiller
    • Lit - My Own Worst Enemy
    • Lush - De-Luxe
    • Mighty Mighty Bosstones - Where’d You Go?
    • Nine Inch Nails - The Perfect Drug
    • Nirvana - Drain You
    • The Offspring - Come Out and Play (Keep ‘em Separated)
    • Pearl Jam - Alive
    • Smashing Pumpkins - Today
    • Social Distortion - I Was Wrong
    • Soundgarden - Spoonman
    • Weezer - Buddy Holly
  • 1980s
    • Billy Idol - White Wedding Part 1?
    • Bon Jovi - Livin’ on a Prayer
    • Dead Kennedys - Holiday in Cambodia
    • Motörhead - Ace of Spades
    • The Police - Message in a Bottle
    • Siouxsie & the Banshees - The Killing Jar
  • 1970s
    • Boston - More Than a Feeling
    • Jackson 5 - ABC
    • Jethro Tull - Aqualung
    • Kansas - Carry on Wayward Son
    • Rush - The Trees
  • 1960s
    • The Who - Pinball Wizard

An additional 10 tracks will be avaialble as DLC on launch day:

  • 30 Seconds to Mars - The Kill
  • Belly - Feed the Tree
  • Disturbed - Inside the Fire
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd - Gimme Three Steps
  • Muse - Hysteria
  • Mute Math - Typical
  • No Doubt - Just a Girl
  • Oasis - Wonderwall
  • Paramore - Crushcrushcrush
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers - Under the Bridge

To commemorate the debut of the Rock Band franchise on the PSP system, Sony Computer Entertainment America plans to release a limited edition Rock Band branded PSP Entertainment Pack at the launch of Rock Band Unplugged. The bundle will include the game, a voucher to download Paramount Pictures' School of Rock from PlayStation Store, a 4GB Memory Stick PRO Duo, and a "Piano Black" PSP system. The Rock Band Entertainment Pack will be available in North America for $199.99 (MSRP).

Rock Band Unplugged will launch simultaneously in both North America ($39.99) and Europe June 9, 2009.

More articles about Rock Band Unplugged
blog comments powered by Disqus