Archives by Day

May 2018

We Sing Encore

Platform(s): Wii
Genre: Rhythm
Publisher: THQ Nordic
Release Date: Aug. 20, 2010

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'We Sing Encore' (Wii) Announced - Screens

by Rainier on May 17, 2010 @ 2:39 a.m. PDT

We Sing Encore will include 40 great new songs the majority of which feature their original videos, spanning pop, rock, rap and R&B.

We Sing Encore will include 40 great new songs the majority of which feature their original videos. The songs span pop, rock, rap and R&B, and bring together party classics such as Love Shack (B52s), contemporary hits like Fight For This Love (Cheryl Cole), crowd-pleasers like Don’t Stop Movin’ (S Club 7), hip-hop hits like Shut Up (Black Eyed Peas) and housewives’ favourite I’m Too Sexy (Right Said Fred).

The game introduces a host of additions. A single-player reward system will offer soloists a stimulating challenge, whilst groups can opt for competitive or co-operative achievements designed to reward the very best performances. The addition of a ‘real karaoke’ mode offers the greatest challenge, removing backing vocals entirely. Other gameplay enhancements include the introduction of ‘Star Notes’ and a new jukebox mode allowing non-stop music. Technically, the entire engine has been overhauled, boasting HDTV support, specific anti-lag features and an impressive visual makeover.

Can’t sing? Don’t worry: the new singing lessons area will teach players how to sing like professionals. And those who fancy messing around will enjoy playing back their own performances and adding voice effects in real-time.

With We Sing Encore the music policy is still something for everyone, but with the extra 10 songs available the choice and value offered by Encore is second to none. The English, Swedish and German versions will each boast 10 tracks picked for the specific territory, offering local hits on top of global smashes. Nordic Games continues to work with all the major music publishers including; Sony, Emi, Universal, Warner and a host of Independents, which means the We Sing Encore tracklist has the best choice possible.

We Sing and We Sing Encore remain the only karaoke games on any format which allow four players to sing together. The launch of We Sing Encore will be supported by a high-profile TV campaign, mammoth advertising campaign, celebrity-packed launch event, and a host of new community features through the revamped We Sing website. In addition, We Sing Encore will sponsor VIP areas at the summer’s hottest festivals.

“We Sing Encore takes the central premise of We Sing and builds upon it in every way,” says Nik Blower, Nordic Games Sales and Marketing Director. “With free rein to pick any song from any label, we’ve come up with what we think is the best line-up on Nintendo Wii. And the addition of 10 tracks exclusive to the English, Swedish and German versions will ensure players in those markets will benefit from even more of their favourite tracks.

“With the major improvements and more tracks, We Sing Encore represents incredible value for money, and will once again prove that we’re the only karaoke game on Nintendo Wii with such broad, mainstream appeal.”

The 30 core songs featured on every version of We Sing Encore are as follows:

  1. B52s - Love Shack
  2. Black Eyed Peas - Shut Up
  3. Bonnie Tyler - Total Eclipse Of The Heart
  4. Cheryl Cole - Fight For This Love
  5. Coldplay - Yellow
  6. Elton John - Tiny Dancer
  7. Gloria Gaynor - I Will Survive
  8. Gwen Stefani featuring Akon - The Sweet Escape
  9. Jamiroquai - Virtual Insanity
  10. Jimmy Ruffin - What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted
  11. Kaiser Chiefs - Ruby
  12. Katrina & The Waves - Walking On Sunshine
  13. Lady GaGa feat. Colby O'Donis & Akon - Just Dance
  14. Lily Allen - Smile
  15. Lou Bega - Mambo No 5
  16. Lynyrd Skynrd - Sweet Home Alabama
  17. Mika - Grace Kelly
  18. Natasha Bedingfield - Unwritten
  19. Pixie Lott - Mama Do (Uh Oh, Uh Oh)
  20. Plain White Ts - Hey There Delilah
  21. Right Said Fred - I'm Too Sexy
  22. Rihanna - Umbrella
  23. Robyn feat. Kleerup - With Every Heartbeat
  24. Simply Red - Holding Back The Years
  25. Soft Cell - Tainted Love
  26. Spandau Ballet - Gold
  27. The Supremes - Baby Love
  28. Taio Cruz - Break Your Heart
  29. The Veronicas - Untouched
  30. Westlife - Flying Without Wings

More articles about We Sing Encore
blog comments powered by Disqus