Archives by Day

Bravely Default: Where the Fairy Flies

Platform(s): Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Role-Playing
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: Silicon Studio
Release Date: Feb. 7, 2014 (US), Dec. 6, 2013 (EU)

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'Bravely Default: Where the Fairy Flies' (3DS) Gets Dated

by Rainier on Nov. 14, 2013 @ 12:20 p.m. PST

Bravely Default: Where the Fairy Flies is a traditional turn-based role-playing game, considered a spiritual successor to Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light.

Combat in Bravely Default makes use of two distinct commands: Brave and Default. In battle you’ll accumulate Brave Points (BP) with which to execute consecutive commands in your turn. Build up enough Brave Points and you’ll be able to use a Phoenix Down item, cast a Blizzard spell, and attack in one turn. However, you’ll need to do this by choosing the Default command to build BP by passing your turn and entering a defensive stance.

Enemies will also make use of the Brave & Default system, even bosses — so tread with caution in your assault. Multiple strong attacks from a boss will leave your party hurting, especially if they have little BP left to recover.

Bravely Default features 24 jobs, all roles one would find at home in a Final Fantasy game: Monk, Black Mage, and Knight for example. Changing jobs will require the use of an Asterisk, and new jobs are obtained by defeating the Jobmasters associated with them.

The game has over 300 abilities associated to its many jobs, and you’ll be able to mix and match from different types once you’ve mastered them to a certain point. This also applies to support abilities, so if your White Mage is a bit frail, train them as a Monk for a while to gain the HP+10% ability.

There are five summoned monsters in Bravely Default: Prometheus (Fire), Ziusudra (Water), Hraesvelgr (Wind), Girtablilu (Earth), and Deus Ex (Lightning). These powerful commands will come with an elaborate summon sequence.

A Limit Break-esque system called Deathblow can be used to execute powerful attacks based on your weapon and it’s respective strength. In the above trailer, we see Tizz as a Red Mage perform a Deathblow with daggers equipped. There are a total of 27 different Deathblows, all ranked on your current job in efficacy.

Using Streetpass, you’ll be able to download your friends’ job character data. This is used in a few different ways. First, you’ll be able to summon your friends’ characters in battle aid you — summoning them frequently will strengthen them, similar to Final Fantasy VIII’s Guardian Forces. You’ll also be able to unlock levels for your jobs beyond the Level 10 cap using this system.

You’ll be able to rebuild Tizz’s hometown of Norwend one step at a time, which includes managing NPCs and shops. These shops, when successful enough, can sell you items and equipment found nowhere else in the game. It will take you a long time to complete, but using StreetPass can help you attract more NPCs to increase growth.

More articles about Bravely Default: Where the Fairy Flies
blog comments powered by Disqus