Archives by Day

October 2017
SuMTuWThFSa
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031

Advertising





The Six Billion Dollar Man's Articles


PS2 Preview - 'Robin Hood: Defender Of The Crown'

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Feb. 27, 2003 @ 12:51 a.m. PST | Filed under Previews

Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown combines the classic game loved by thousands with a legend known around the world for a gameplay experience unlike any other. Players take on the role of the legendary outlaw himself and must use strategy, cunning, and quick reflexes to overthrow a tyrant prince, rescue the true king, and reunite England. We had a chance to check out a partial build and here's what we had to say about it ...

Xbox Review - 'Dead or Alive Extreme Beach Volleyball'

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Feb. 18, 2003 @ 2:23 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Talk about a southern island fantasy! Imagine being in Paradise for two whole weeks, with no-one but the lovely ladies of Dead or Alive to keep you company! Except instead of fighting – it’s all about another exciting and reaction testing activity – beach volleyball. In “Dead or Alive Extreme Beach Volleyball”, you play as a character you select out of all seven of the Dead or Alive ladies, along with one new character and enjoy holidays at various spots on the island playing beach volleyball games.

Q&A With 'Devastation' Producer

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Feb. 18, 2003 @ 2:03 a.m. PST | Filed under Interviews

Set on post-apocalyptic Earth where survival and ultimate dominance are all that matters, Devastation is a high action, teamplay oriented first person shooter. Powered by heavily modified, next generation Unreal Engine technology, it pits teams of rebelling street fighters, gang leaders, mercenaries and ex-military fighters against overwhelming armies of high-tech corporate troopers. We finally had a chance to sit down with Digitalo's Lead Producer Vic DeLeon and fired off some annoying questions. Read more to check out our devastating interview!

'Chrome' - Developer Interview

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Feb. 12, 2003 @ 12:12 a.m. PST | Filed under Interviews

Chrome, a Tactical First Person Shooter, is a dramatic story of heroism, friendship and betrayal; a story full of sudden twists and turns mixed into tons of Sci-Fi action. Players assume the role of Logan; a veteran mercenary turned bounty hunter who is out to make it rich. Using a system of implants, the player is able to manipulate Logan’s personality and abilities in order to accomplish all of the 14 enormous and varied missions. We had a little sit down with Techland designer Paul Bartek and fired off some annoying questions, stole some brand new screens, and got out guns blazing!

PS2 Preview - 'EverQuest Online Adventures'

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Feb. 6, 2003 @ 12:28 a.m. PST | Filed under Previews

A couple days ago I received my very own copy of Everquest Online Adventures for the Playstation 2. Having played the original Everquest for the PC, I wondered what the PS2 version had to offer. Since the game won't launch until later this month, I knew I would be adventuring alone. So let’s summons our Pets, receive our buffs, and set out into the unknown land of Tunaria!

Interview With 'Restricted Area' Developer

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Jan. 25, 2003 @ 12:25 a.m. PST | Filed under Interviews

A few days ago Master Creating announced the development of their first title, Restricted Area. Restricted Area is an action-based roleplaying game with realtime combat, which combines a fascinating gameplay similar to Diablo 2 with innovative technology, tactic-shooter elements and a dark futuristic scenario. We thought this all sounded interesting enough to have a lengthy chat with Jan Beuck Master Creating's Managing Director and one of the lead designers of 'Restricted Area'.

'Lotus Challenge' (Xbox) Project Manager Interview

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Jan. 23, 2003 @ 10:32 p.m. PST | Filed under Interviews

By mixing different gaming styles, camera angles, story lines and even a hint of role playing, players can choose multiple paths through the game. Five huge modes offer players a complete tour of the world of Lotus. Stunt mode takes you to the set of a Hollywood blockbuster run by a hotshot director who gives you the play-by-play of the scene he wants you to execute. A multi-player option is available for those who want to challenge others through a championship or single race. We sat down with Kuju Entertainment's Senior Project Manager Paul Chamberlain and took him aside for a few laps .. ermm questions ..

'Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown' (PS2) - Screens

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Jan. 22, 2003 @ 12:22 a.m. PST | Filed under News

Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown is based on Cinemaware’s hit game Defender of the Crown, first released in 1986 on the Commodore Amiga and subsequently to a variety of platforms where sold over 1,000,000 units worldwide. Robin Hood: Defender of the Crown is a re-imagining of the beloved classic, with a deep storyline, a rich cast of characters, and the same commitment to stunning graphics and unique, varied gameplay that first made Cinemaware famous. We are currently taking our beta build for a spin so expect a preview soon, in the meantime, check the new batch of screens ...

'Painkiller' - Developer Q&A

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Jan. 21, 2003 @ 11:49 p.m. PST | Filed under Interviews

Painkiller is a pure first person action shooter supported by an adventure-based plot and is currently being developed for the PC. Adrenaline-pumping gameplay, a gripping storyline, and visually striking backdrops propel Painkiller into a league of its own. We had a chance to sit down with game designer and co-owner of People Can Fly Adrian Chmielarz, and turned up the heat!

PSOne Review - 'Super Bubble Pop'

by The Six Billion Dollar Man on Jan. 17, 2003 @ 12:33 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Dance to the beat of crazy music and play 150 levels of bubble popping action in this 3D puzzle game. Make your move and work quickly to take out the bubbles before they take you out. With rocking soundtracks and fast-pace game play, Super Bubble Pop is a bubble based action puzzler game where the idea is to quickly and efficiently clear the grid of bubbles to advance to the next stage while gaining as many points as possible.