Archives by Day

September 2014
SuMTuWThFSa
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930

Advertising





Tim McDonald's Articles


PC Review - 'Avencast: Rise of the Mage'

by Tim McDonald on Oct. 4, 2008 @ 12:36 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

ClockStone Software's action RPG, Avencast: Rise of the Mage, mixes the dynamics of an action game with strong adventure elements creating an enthralling and unique gaming experience.

PC Review - 'My Little Pony: Pinkie Pie's Party Parade'

by Tim McDonald on April 1, 2008 @ 5:43 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

My Little Pony: Pinkie Pie’s Party Parade challenges players to help Pinkie Pie and her pony pals prepare for the best Ponyville Birthday Party Parade ever. Players will help Pinkie Pie make the prettiest tiara, join Star Song in decorating the Teapot Palace, and practice dance steps with Toola-Roola, all while preparing for the Party Parade.

Under the Radar - Indie Games

by Tim McDonald on March 16, 2008 @ 7:16 a.m. PDT | Filed under Editorials

In the past weeks, we've delved into some of the games you haven't played (but really should), taking in some of the best of the unknown horror and comedy games. With those two extremes out of the way, this time, we're going to focus on independent games, which are PC-only, with one pseudo-exception. For those of you who didn't read the previous articles, these are games that you've probably not played, but you really should.

PS2 Review - 'Cheggers' Party Quiz'

by Tim McDonald on Feb. 26, 2008 @ 2:39 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Cheggers' Party Quiz is packed with thousands of entertainment questions, all brought into your front room by the eternally ebullient host, Keith Chegwin.

PS2 Review - 'Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law'

by Tim McDonald on Feb. 13, 2008 @ 3:57 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Harvey Birdman: Attorney at Law is a fully animated interactive adventure, allowing players will step into the shiny wingtips of Harvey Birdman, a third-rate superhero turned third-rate defense attorney charged with exonerating parodied classic cartoon characters.

Under the Radar - Humor Games

by Tim McDonald on Feb. 3, 2008 @ 6:41 a.m. PST | Filed under Editorials

Last time in our Under the Radar roundup, we delved into games featuring Cthulhu-esque monstrosities and poor, terrified little children. Now that we've had enough of nightmares, though, it's time to brighten things up a bit with some comedy. For those of you who didn't read the previous articles, these are games that you've probably not played, but you really should.

PC Review - 'Speedball 2: Tournament'

by Tim McDonald on Jan. 17, 2008 @ 2:42 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Speedball 2 transforms the futuristic game setting into a high-speed online sports spectacle. Offering international leagues, a large-scale ranking system and a virtual marketplace, Speedball 2 pulls out all the stops in modern multiplayer gaming action.

Under the Radar - Horror Games

by Tim McDonald on Jan. 13, 2008 @ 2:56 a.m. PST | Filed under Editorials

Christmas is over, the big games rush is all but done for now, and for most of the forthcoming triple-A titles, we've got at least a few months to wait. What's a gamer to do (other than play everything that we didn't buy before Christmas, obviously)? I'll be writing a pseudo-regular column on some decent little games you might've missed over the last few years, tackling a different theme each time.

PC Preview - 'Sins of a Solar Empire'

by Tim McDonald on Dec. 28, 2007 @ 3:33 a.m. PST | Filed under Previews

Sins of a Solar Empire is a real-time space strategy title under development at Ironclad Games. Unfolding the fate of three unique factions, Sins of a Solar Empire is the first chapter in an epic science fiction saga.

PC Review - 'Escape from Paradise City'

by Tim McDonald on Dec. 13, 2007 @ 3:38 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Escape from Paradise City is a blended action-RPG and strategy game that asks the player to infiltrate a gang-infested city on the Eastern seaboard in order to root out rampant corruption and violence.