Archives by Day

September 2014
SuMTuWThFSa
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930

Advertising





Ben Zackheim's Articles


PC Review - 'Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban'

by Ben Zackheim on July 8, 2004 @ 12:55 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

In the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban videogame, Harry Potter and his friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger return to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. As teenagers back for their third year of study, they are engaged in the mystery surrounding Sirius Black, who has recently escaped from the infamous wizard prison of Azkaban.

PC Review - 'Beyond Divinity'

by Ben Zackheim on June 17, 2004 @ 12:41 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

Beyond Divinity is Larian Studios’ new role playing game set in the award-winning Divinity universe. In Beyond Divinity, you become soul-forged with a Death Knight. Your fate is to spend the rest of eternity bonded to this creature of evil, unless you can undo this curse. You and your unlikely companion embark on a great adventure to unlock the secret of riftrunning... your only answer to this life of darkness!

PC Review - 'The Egyptian Prophecy'

by Ben Zackheim on May 10, 2004 @ 2:50 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

'The Egyptian Prophecy' is a first person adventure has an easy to use point-and-click interface with high quality cinematics, and integrated 3D real-time puzzles. Ramses is doomed by what appears to be an evil curse surrounding this pact. His fate lies in the hands of one… Maia, a beautiful young sorceress favoured by the gods. If she fails to uncover the mystery, Ramses will die, and with him Egypt shall fall.

PC Review - 'Sacred'

by Ben Zackheim on April 30, 2004 @ 2:17 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

The player can choose from 6 playable characters, each with their own individual characteristics and style. The more reserved role-player might prefer the Battle Mage or the Wood Elf, while admirers of traditional fantasy characters can take on the role of the Gladiator or Dark Elf. If the player fancies a different approach then the Seraphim, a follower of the mystical Angels, or the bloodthirsty Vampiress might clench their thirst.

PC Review - ' Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps'

by Ben Zackheim on April 13, 2004 @ 2:27 a.m. PDT | Filed under Reviews

A real-time tactical game boasting single and multiplayer modes, Desert Rats vs. Afrika Korps immerses you into the explosive campaigns that took place in North Africa during World War II. Set across two campaigns and twenty missions, you take the role of either friend or foe as you follow the fascinating destinies of an English and a German hero who were once friends and who are now constrained to fight each other in this “war without hate”.

'Game Developers Conference' (GDC) Day 1-4 Coverage

by Ben Zackheim on March 31, 2004 @ 1:23 a.m. PST | Filed under News

Game Developers Conference is pretty titillating. No, I’m afraid GDC is one of the few conferences with booth babes who are fully clothed and well-versed in C++. But there’s another kind of stimulation to be found here. A sense of community amongst people who love the same thing -- making games. Our man in the field was present at the Game Developers Conference (GDC) held in San Jose, California, checking out titles such as Fable, Serious Sam 2, Far Cry, Tribes Vengeance, Painkiller...

PC Review - 'Gangland'

by Ben Zackheim on March 31, 2004 @ 1:15 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Budding Al Capone's across the world are set to play out their gangster dreams in Gangland, a new hybrid format that combines the best elements of real-time strategy, role-play and simulation gaming genres with a totally new style of in-game combat. Read more for the full review ...

PC Review - 'Firestarter'

by Ben Zackheim on March 16, 2004 @ 1:04 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Firestarter is set in the near future, in the year 2010. A malicious virus has infected a virtual reality machine, the FireStarter. The intruding program has caused the computer to malfunction. The rules of the simulation have been altered in a potentially deadly manner, with the player's consciousness trapped inside. There is only one possible way to escape, by completing the game within a period of 48 virtual hours. The penalty for failing to do so is the ultimate one - real death.

PC Review - 'The Sims Makin' Magic'

by Ben Zackheim on Jan. 30, 2004 @ 2:27 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Brace Yourselves! The Sims are Makin' Magic! In this expansion pack finale for The Sims original series, your Sims can cast magic spells to improve their love life, wreak havoc on visiting neighbors, or put an end to their tedious chores. An all-new magical carnival-themed destination, exciting new gameplay, and a whole new cast of quirky characters await you in this powerful pack of magical high jinx.

PC Review - 'Divine Divinity'

by Ben Zackheim on Jan. 25, 2004 @ 2:14 a.m. PST | Filed under Reviews

Set in a new fantasy universe, Divine Divinity takes the player on a fantastic quest in a land torn apart by corruption and dark magic. Throughout his journeys the player will get the chance to develop his character as one of six character types, and meet a variety of people and fantastical beings.