Archives by Day

July 2018

Guitar Hero: World Tour

Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, Wii, Xbox 360
Genre: Rhythm
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Neversoft
Release Date: Oct. 26, 2008

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


'Guitar Hero World Tour' (ALL) Gets Tool, Playable Sting - Screens & Trailer

by Rainier on Sept. 5, 2008 @ 10:17 a.m. PDT

Guitar Hero: World Tour will feature guitar, vocals, drums, the ability to create your own songs (and upload them on GHTunes), four-player on/offline co-op, and an eight-player battle of the bands multiplayer mode (4vs4).

Get the Guitar Hero: World Tour [ALL] Trailer off WP (50mb)

In what will be the largest collection of artists ever to appear in a Guitar Hero game, singer-songwriter, actor, author, activist and lead singer/bassist of The Police, Sting will add his voice and likeness as an in-game character. Aspiring frontmen can take the stage as Sting throughout their vocal career or play alongside him as he performs one of The Police classics, “Demolition Man.”

Hugely popular alternative metal band Tool, known for their epic, intense musical arrangements and killer visual arts, will also soon be known for their contribution to the upcoming Guitar Hero World Tour. Guitar Hero fans from all over the world will be able to rock out to “Parabola” and Grammy-award winning “Schism” from Tool’s critically-acclaimed 2001 album Lateralus in addition to “Vicarious” from their 2006 Grammy-award winning album 10,000 Days. The game will also feature an all-new venue designed in collaboration with the band and highlighting the art style that has become a staple in their music videos, live shows and album artwork.

Guitar Hero World Tour will transform music gaming by marrying Guitar Hero’s exhilarating guitar gameplay, with a cooperative band experience that combines the most advanced wireless instruments with revolutionary new online and offline gameplay modes. The game will feature a slick newly redesigned guitar, a genuine electronic drum kit and a microphone, as well as an innovative Music Studio music creator that lets players compose, record, edit and share their own rock and roll anthems, along with online Band Career and 8-player “Battle of the Bands.”

Delivering the largest on-disc set list in a music-rhythm game to-date, Guitar Hero World Tour is comprised entirely of master recordings from some of the greatest classic and modern rock bands of all-time including Van Halen, Linkin Park, The Eagles, Sublime and many more. Additionally, the game will offer significantly more localized downloadable music than ever before on all of the next-generation consoles. Budding rock stars will also be given creative license to fully customize everything from their characters’ appearance and instruments to their band’s logo and album covers.

In addition to a newly designed more responsive guitar controller and microphone, Guitar Hero World Tour will deliver the most realistic drum experience ever in a video game with an authentic electronic drum kit. Featuring three drum pads, two raised cymbals and a bass kick pedal, the drum controller combines larger and quieter, velocity-sensitive drum heads with soft rubber construction to deliver authentic bounce back and is easy to set up, move, break down and store.

Guitar Hero World Tour is cranking it to 11 by featuring several of the most influential instrument and equipment brands in the music industry. Gamers can score in-game sponsorships and gear from Ampeg, Audio-Technica, EMG Pickups, Ernie Ball, Evans Drumheads, Guitar Center, Krank Amplification, Mackie, Marshall, Orange County Drum & Percussion, Pork Pie Percussion, Regal Tip, Sabian cymbals, Vox and Zildjian drumsticks.

In addition to featuring products, the game lets virtual bands play on the same stage as many of their favorite musicians with digital re-creations of Amoeba Music, Live Nation’s House of Blues® Sunset Strip and San Francisco’s AT&T Park.

Activision announced the Mii Freestyle gameplay mode for the Wii version of Guitar Hero World Tour, which invites Wii gamers to use their Mii avatars to create in-game music and learn how to play the game in an easy and fun way. Players can learn to play riffs to some classic songs or freestyle to their own creations using the guitar controller or utilize the Wii remote and Nunchuk as air drums. In addition, the company revealed a host of European-specific tracks which will be available on-disc in Guitar Hero World Tour when the game ships this fall, including such rock anthems as:

  • Anouk - "Good God" (Netherlands)
  • Beatsteaks - "Hail to the Freaks" (Germany)
  • Hush Puppies - "You're Gonna Say Yeah" (France)
  • Kent - "Vinternoll 2" (Sweden)
  • Lost Prophets - "Rooftops" (UK)
  • Negramaro - "Nuvole E Lenzuola" (Italy)
  • Oasis - "Some Might Say" (UK)
  • Radio Futura - "Escuela de Calor" (Spain)
  • Stuck in the Sound - "Toy Boy" (France)
  • The Enemy - "Aggro" (UK)
  • Tokio Hotel - "Monsoon" (Germany)

Previously confirmed track/band list :

  • Airbourne - Too Much Too Young...
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Weapon of Choice
  • Bob Seger - Hollywood Nights
  • Dinosaur Jr. - Feel The pain
  • Silversun Pickups - Lazy Eye
  • Survivor - Eye of the Tiger
  • Black Label Society - Stillborn
  • Metallica - "Trapped Under Ice
  • System of a Down - B.Y.O.B.
  • Blink 182 - Dammit - Blink 182
  • Linkin Park - What I've Done
  • Paramore - Misery Business - Paramore
  • The Doors - Love Me Two Times
  • The Eagles - Hotel California
  • Sublime - Santeria
  • Billy Idol - Rebel Yell
  • Foo Fighters - Everlong
  • Van Halen - Hot for Teacher
  • At the Drive-In - One Armed Scissor
  • Jimi Hendrix - Purple Haze (Live)
  • Jimi Hendrix - The Wind Cries Mary
  • Steve Miller Band - The Joker
  • Interpol - Obstacle 1
  • The Doors - Light My Fire
  • Beat It - Michael Jackson
  • Linkin Park - In The End
  • Lenny Kravitz - Are You Gonna Go My Way
  • Smashing Pumpkins - Bullet with Butterfly Wings
  • Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train
  • Ozzy Osbourne - Mr. Crowley
  • MC5 - Kick Out the Jams
  • Motörhead - Overkill
  • The Smashing Pumpkins - Today
  • The Sex Pistols - Pretty Vacant

Confirmed DLCs

  • The Smashing Pumpkins - 1979
  • The Smashing Pumpkins - The Everlasting Gaze
  • The Smashing Pumpkins - G.L.O.W.

Guitar Hero World Tour delivers more ways to play than ever before. Virtual musicians can live out their rock and roll fantasies by playing either a single instrument, or any combination of instruments, in addition to the full band experience. In addition to all of the online gameplay modes from Guitar Hero® III: Legends of Rock, Guitar Hero World Tour introduces Battle of the Bands mode which allows eight players to join online and challenge each other band-to-band to determine who is the best of the best. In the Band modes, up to four players can jam together, online or off, as they progress through the game, and in single-player Career Mode, players can jam on any of the instruments in branching venue progression enabling them to rock out in the order of their choice.

The game’s innovative new Music Studio lets players express their musical creativity by giving them access to a full compliment of tools to create digital music from scratch, utilizing all of the instruments, and then play their compositions in the game. Music creators will also be able to share their recordings with their friends online through GHTunes where other gamers can download their unique compositions and play them.

More articles about Guitar Hero: World Tour
blog comments powered by Disqus