Archives by Day

Planet Zoo

Platform(s): PC
Genre: Simulation
Developer: Frontier Developments
Release Date: Nov. 5, 2019

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!

Advertising

As an Amazon Associate, we earn commission from qualifying purchases.





'Planet Zoo' Beta Begins Kicks Off Today

by Rainier on Sept. 24, 2019 @ 12:35 p.m. PDT

Planet Zoo is the ultimate zoo simulation featuring authentic living animals, rich management, and limitless creativity, players can build and manage a truly modern zoo where animal welfare and conservation comes first.

From the makers of Planet Coaster (2016) and Jurassic World Evolution (2018) comes the ultimate zoo simulation, featuring authentic living animals, rich management, and limitless creativity. Build and manage a truly modern zoo where animal welfare and conservation comes first.

Planet Zoo presents the most authentic animals in videogame history. From playful lion cubs to mighty elephants, every animal in Planet Zoo is an individual who thinks, feels and explores the world you build around them. They care about their surroundings and each other, with complex environmental and social needs. Nurture your animals throughout their lives, study and manage every species to see them thrive, and help them raise young to pass their genes onto future generations.

Manage your own zoo in an expressive world that reacts to every choice you make. Focus on the big picture or go hands-on and look after the smallest details. Thrill visitors with prestigious animals and famous exhibits, develop your zoo and research new technologies, and release animals back into the wild to repopulate the planet.

The beta is available for those who pre-ordered the Deluxe Edition, with the full release on 5 November and is expected to run from 4pm  BST / 5pm CEST / 8am PDT on September 24 to 5pm BST / 6pm CEST / 9am PDT on October 8.

Ahead of the full launch on November 5, the Planet Zoo beta will teach budding keepers how to make their dream zoo a reality, guiding them through everything from habitat design to animal welfare. Featuring Career and Franchise modes, players will visit two locations and learn to care for over 30 animals.

The beta will feature the first scenario from Planet Zoo’s Career mode, a biome from Franchise mode and is available to fans who pre-order on Steam.

  • Career Mode: A new story awaits in Planet Zoo’s narrative-driven Career mode. Players will be introduced to a cast of colorful characters in a globe-trotting campaign, placing them in charge of zoos around the world.  The Planet Zoo Beta includes the first scenario, introducing players to zoo management and a selection of animals from the full game, including a number of as-yet unrevealed animals. 
  • Franchise Mode: And sandbox meets simulation in Franchise mode where players can build, manage, research and develop their own zoo franchise alongside a global community of Planet Zoo players. The Franchise mode Beta features Planet Zoo’s online Animal Exchange where players can trade animals to increase genetic diversity and well being in their zoo. At launch, Franchise mode will introduce Daily Challenges and weekly Community Goals that will unite Planet Zoo community behind a shared objective. 

Planet Zoo is available to pre-order now on Steam. The Planet Zoo Deluxe Edition includes the Planet Zoo game plus bonus content, including: 

  • Beta access on September 24.
  • Three exclusive animals: Komodo Dragon, Pygmy Hippopotamus, Thomson’s Gazelle.
  • High-quality wallpapers.
  • Original Soundtrack by JJ Ipsen.

The beta will feature a Community Goal that will be announced soon.

The Planet Zoo beta will feature a range of wildlife from around the world across both modes, including the West African Lion, Reticulated Giraffe, Bengal Tiger, Snow Leopard and Galapagos Giant Tortoise, with over 30 animals total, each with unique traits and personalities. 

Unleash your creativity with the next evolution of Planet Coaster’s best-in-class creation mechanics. Craft stunning scenery and habitats, dig lakes and rivers, raise hills and mountains, and carve tunnels and caves as you build your own zoo. See your animals and visitors respond to your creative vision, and share your designs with friends in Planet Zoo’s online community. Bring the world’s greatest designs home to your own zoo for your animals and visitors to enjoy.

Planet Zoo is in development exclusively for PC, scheduled for release on November 5, 2019.


More articles about Planet Zoo
blog comments powered by Disqus