Archives by Day

December 2020

Wraith: The Oblivion - Afterlife

Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 4
Genre: Action/Adventure
Developer: Fast Travel Games
Release Date: Early 2021

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


As an Amazon Associate, we earn commission from qualifying purchases.

'Wraith: The Oblivion - Afterlife' (ALL) Reveals Details About The Main Character, Environments

by Rainier on Oct. 30, 2020 @ 3:20 p.m. PDT

Sharing the same universe as Vampire: The Masquerade and Werewolf: The Apocalypse, Afterlife will let players enter the World of Darkness in virtual reality for the first time ever.

What if monsters were real?

Set in the World of Darkness, a modern fantasy horror universe where you are the monster, Afterlife shares the same setting as Vampire: The Masquerade and Werewolf: The Apocalypse. In Afterlife, the player becomes a Wraith, one of the restless dead with supernatural powers at their disposal, where you must unravel the many mysteries that await beyond the Shroud.

In time for the Halloween season, Fast Travel Games has revelead the main character along with some of the unique environments that players will get to explore as Wraiths - spirits of the dead - in Wraith: The Oblivion - Afterlife.

The Main Character

  • The main character is Ed Miller, a photographer that had earlier arrived at the Barclay Mansion together with his wife Rachel to document a seance. But something went terribly wrong, with Ed dying during the seance and with his wife Rachel disappearing.
  • As the game starts, Ed is about to enter the Barclay Mansion again - this time as a Wraith stuck in the Shadowlands with supernatural powers at his disposal. He aims to find out the truth about his own death, the whereabouts of Rachel as well as the larger mystery taking place inside the mansion.
  • Ed’s camera plays an important role in the game. Players will use it to gradually reveal more about what actually happened inside the mansion, to unlock memories of past occurrences by photographing certain objects, and to find hidden secrets.

The Environments

  • The game takes place in Barclay Mansion, the home of Howard Barclay, an old and sick man who has retired from his past career as a movie producer.
  • Far from the stereotypical haunted house or gothic castle, the Barclay Mansion is a modern, grandiose building filled with Hollywood decadence and trophies that bring witness to Howard’s glorious past in the movie business. The remnants of a premiere party can still be seen, and broken glass covers the floor in the cinema room.
  • Barclay Mansion will let players explore every nook & cranny of its many interconnected floors and rooms - but also to leave it occasionally. The garden area is as pompous as the interiors, amplified by the haunting sky above and the glowing city skyline in the distance.

As they progress, their powers will grow, granting them access to new areas:

  • Wraithgrasp: Allows the player to manipulate objects from a distance and change the environment around them.
  • Sharpened Senses: Helps the player pick up distant whispers or track the movement of other spirits.
  • Insubstantiality: Gives the player the power to walk through solid walls.

The Barclay Mansion

Afterlife plays against a backdrop of modern Hollywood decadence and occult research:

  • The player will explore the massive Barclay Mansion to gradually reveal its terrifying history, and the reason behind their own death. 
  • The mansion is filled with apparitions and sinister Spectres trailing the players’ footsteps, each with its own background story and with a connection to the bigger mystery.  
  • To stay hidden and uncover the truth, players need to be stealthy and use objects to hunt for clues in the world around them.

A World of Dark Secrets

For the first time in history, players will get to experience a World of Darkness game from the Wraith’s perspective:

  • As a Wraith, death is not the end. The player is caught between this life and the next, accompanied by their Shadow, a manifestation of their dark subconscious.
  • The Shadowlands are the reflection of the daylight world: a place where the dead walk unseen, side by side with the living.

Wraith: The Oblivion - Afterlife is coming to Oculus Quest, Oculus Rift/S, HTC Vive, Valve Index and PSVR headsets in Early 2021.

More articles about Wraith: The Oblivion - Afterlife
blog comments powered by Disqus