Archives by Day

July 2024

Guitar Hero: Metallica

Platform(s): PlayStation 3, Wii, Xbox 360
Genre: Rhythm
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Neversoft

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


As an Amazon Associate, we earn commission from qualifying purchases.

'Guitar Hero: Metallica' (ALL) Pre-Order Icentives

by Rainier on Feb. 11, 2009 @ 4:18 p.m. PST

Guitar Hero: Metallica features an Expert+ difficulty setting for people with two kick pedals, pop-up video style tracks, new guitar and bass tones, allowing you to play as a band member in single instrument or band career game modes, a total of 28 Metallica tracks, as well as 21 other artists.

“Ride the Lightning” with musical icons Metallica and over 20 other rocking acts in an all new Guitar Hero® experience - Guitar Hero® Metallica®. Enter the world of Lars Ulrich, James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett and Robert Trujillo and experience the intensity and skill of one of the greatest bands of all time. Shred on guitar, rip on drums and wail on the mic to a set list featuring over 45 explosive hits from Metallica’s illustrious career and a wide variety of other legendary artists personally selected by the band, such as Alice In Chains, Foo Fighters and Queen. Fans will be able to rock as Metallica while performing in venues reminiscent of the band’s epic album covers, themes from their music and real world locales.

Pre-order the game for PS3, Xbox 360 or Wii and get :

  • GameStop: Pre-order Guitar Hero Metallica today and receive an exclusive second Kick Pedal for free.
  • Hollywood Video/GameCrazy: Pre-order the game today and get a pair of official Guitar Hero Metallica drumsticks for free.
  • Also, those that purchase the game at Best Buy can receive free tattoo sleeves at launch, while supplies last.

Guitar Hero Metallica pre-order prizes are available for a limited time only, so get your while supplies last!

Key Features :

  • Becoming the Band: For the first time ever, Guitar Hero Metallica will allow fans to come together and thrash as the explosive, world-renown metal and rock band, Metallica, whose album sales have exceeded 100 million worldwide. Transform into metal legends Lars Ulrich, James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett and Robert Trujillo as full body scans and signature moves motion capture allow players to virtually experience the high intensity of a Metallica performance.
  • Live Like Metal Legends: Follow the path of the metal legends in either single instrument or band career game modes playing as the band to a soundtrack of their greatest hits while also rocking with over 20 additional artists selected by the band. Featuring in-the-round stage designs and custom camera angles new to Guitar Hero, further highlighted by custom lightshows, special effects and encores, gamers and Metallica fans alike can fulfill their rock ‘n’ roll fantasies in a variety of new and famous settings, ranging from Tushino Airfield to The Forum. All venues reflect Metallica’s most memorable tours including themes from their album artwork to offer the authentic Metallica atmosphere.
  • Drum Like Lars: In addition to using the redesigned, more responsive and advanced Guitar Hero World Tour guitar controller and microphone, Metallica fans will truly be able to pound like Lars on the drums with a second bass pedal compatible with the Guitar Hero World Tour drum kit controller. The all-new “Expert+” difficulty level gives gamers access to the double bass drum note track which offers the authentic Metallica experience with a note-for-note translation of many tracks appearing in-game and adds a new difficulty option to all gameplay modes.
  • Seek and Destroy: Immerse yourself in themed Battle Mode attacks, such as briefly blacking out your fellow rocker’s note track or modifying the amp overload to include the signature Metallica lightening.
  • Test Your Metal: After nailing a song, test your Metallica know-how by replaying the song with trivia pop-ups. The on-screen displays give information about the song being played, and with guest artist songs, information about how the band is tied to Metallica will be displayed along with details such as band history and lyrics.
  • Off to Never Never Land: Guitar Hero Metallica is loaded with tons of bonuses throughout the game, such as unlockable venues, commentary, videos and behind the scenes footage, giving all Metallica fans exclusive content to enjoy.
  • All that Remains: Guitar Hero Metallica cranks all the great features, gameplay and fun of Guitar Hero World Tour to a new level with updates to the Music Studio featuring samples from James Hetfield’s ESP Truckster guitar and of Slayer fame, Tom Araya’s signature ESP bass guitar, GHTunesSM, and the Rock Star Creator. Online game modes allow competing gamers to see who tops the charts in Face-Off, Pro Face-Off, eight-player “Battle of the Bands” and Battle Mode as well as the online Quickplay mode that allows up to four gamers to shred together regardless of physical location.

Metallica Tracks

  1. All Nightmare Long
  2. Battery
  3. Creeping Death
  4. Disposable Heroes
  5. Dyers Eve
  6. Enter Sandman
  7. Fade To Black
  8. Fight Fire With Fire
  9. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  10. Frantic
  11. Fuel
  12. Hit The Lights
  13. King Nothing
  14. Master of Puppets
  15. Mercyful Fate (Medley)
  16. No Leaf Clover
  17. Nothing Else Matters
  18. One
  19. Orion
  20. Sad But True
  21. Seek And Destroy
  22. The Memory Remains
  23. The Shortest Straw
  24. The Thing That Should Not Be
  25. The Unforgiven
  26. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  27. Wherever I May Roam
  28. Whiplash

If you downloaded the "Death Magnetic" album for Xbox and PS3, those ten songs will play in their entirety in the full game mode. PS2 and Wii versions (coming in the Spring, most likely in early May) will include "Broken Beat & Scarred," "Cyanide" and "My Apocalypse" since they are not compatible with the Death Magnetic downloadable content.

Other Artists

  1. Alice In Chains - No Excuses
  2. Bob Seger - Turn The Page
  3. Corrosion of Conformity - Albatross
  4. Diamond Head - Am I Evil?
  5. Foo Fighters - Stacked Actors
  6. Judas Priest - Hell Bent For Leather
  7. Kyuss - Demon Cleaner
  8. Lynyrd Skynyrd - Tuesdays Gone
  9. Machine Head - Beautiful Mourning
  10. Mastodon - Blood And Thunder
  11. Mercyful Fate - Evil
  12. Michael Schenker Group - Armed and Ready
  13. Motorhead - Ace of Spades
  14. Queen - Stone Cold Crazy
  15. Samhain - Mother of Mercy
  16. Slayer - War Ensemble
  17. Social Distortion - Mommy's Little Monster
  18. Suicidal Tendencies - War Inside My Head
  19. System of a Down - Toxicity
  20. The Sword - Black River
  21. Thin Lizzy - The Boys Are Back in Town

*tracklist subject to change*

Guitar Hero: Metallica will be out March 29 in North America for X360 and PS3, outside of North America early May. Wii and PS2 editions will follow later in Spring 2009.

More articles about Guitar Hero: Metallica
blog comments powered by Disqus