Archives by Day

June 2021

The Elder Scrolls Online

Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X
Genre: Online Multiplayer
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Developer: ZeniMax Online Studios
Release Date: April 4, 2014

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


As an Amazon Associate, we earn commission from qualifying purchases.

'The Elder Scrolls Online' (ALL) Details Blackwood Chapter's History and Lore - Trailer

by Rainier on May 12, 2021 @ 5:30 p.m. PDT

The Elder Scrolls Online is the first Elder Scrolls game to allow gamers to explore the legendary Elder Scrolls world with others.

Explore a rich, living world with friends or embark upon a solo adventure. Enjoy complete control over how your character looks and plays, from the weapons you wield to the skills you learn – the choices you make will shape your destiny. Welcome to a world without limits.

Battle, craft, steal, siege, or explore, and combine different types of armor, weapons, and abilities to create your own style of play. The choice is yours to make in a persistent, ever-growing Elder Scrolls world.

Discover the secrets of Tamriel as you set off to regain your lost soul and save the world from Oblivion. Experience any story in any part of the world, in whichever order you choose – with others or alone.

Using ZeniMax Online’s Megaserver technology, players will join one connected world with a built in social network that lets them stay up-to-date with everything their friends are doing.

Megaserver technology avoids the hassle of shard selection and makes The Elder Scrolls Online one of the most socially enabled games ever created.  Whether playing alone, or with hundreds of friends, players can develop their own style of play as they embark upon an epic quest across Tamriel.

The Elder Scrolls Online’s Blackwood chapter will continue the Gates of Oblivion adventure and feature over 30 hours of new story content, allowing you to explore a colorful part of Tamriel where the diverse culture of the Argonians meets with Imperial ambitions.

The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood is this year’s massive story Chapter, tasking players with uncovering the schemes of the Daedric Prince Mehrunes Dagon 800 years before the events of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Blackwood packs more than 30 hours of new main storyline, tons of side quests, countless quality of life features, and, for the first time ever, introduces Companions who will adventure through Tamriel alongside the player. The new Chapter will take players from the walls of the Imperial City of Leyawiin, first featured in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, to the murky bogs of Shadowfen, and of course to the mysterious region of Blackwood where players will uncover the Daedric plot at its heart. 

The new Rockgrove Trial, Oblivion Portal World Events, unique Chapter-specific rewards and more will provide ESO players and newcomers alike with an amazing year of deadric destruction.

Bethesda also revealed players will expose the daedric plots and tyrannical schemes consuming the region and must discover their connection to the Prince of Destruction and his dreadful plans for Tamriel. Though Blackwood is a standalone story, its events further the overall Gates of Oblivion narrative that will unfold throughout 2021.

Looking to explore some new yet very, very familiar lands? Journey back to iconic locations from The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, complete with Leyawiin serving as the Blackwood region’s central hub. Beyond its towering walls lies three distinct biomes, filled with the sinister minions of Mehrunes Dagon, the new Rockgrove 12-player Trial, world bosses, public dungeons, Oblivion Portal World Events and rewards.

Discover the mortal ambitions and Daedric schemes that lead to the upcoming Blackwood chapter and larger Gates of Oblivion adventure with this new story trailer (above).

In The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood, arriving June 8 on Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, you’ll have an opportunity to discover a story that began with the Longhouse Emperors and Mehrunes Dagon as part of the year-long Gates of Oblivion saga.

This new storyline kicked off in March with the Flames of Ambition DLC and continues with the upcoming Blackwood chapter and throughout the entirety of 2021. Of course, you can jump in any time and still experience an incredible tale of ambition and destruction, as each unique release tells its own unique tale. Even better, with the Blackwood Prologue available now for everybody who owns The Elder Scrolls Online, you can take your first steps into the new chapter’s main storyline before it arrives this June!

Imperial ambitions, Daedric schemes, and a desperate band of heroes standing in the face of destruction itself, the Gates of Oblivion year-long saga is going to be an adventure unlike anything you’ve seen before. In addition to continuing this massive story, Blackwood also introduces a new zone to explore, the new Companions system, the new Oblivion Portals world events, and much more.

ESO: Blackwood will be available on PC starting June 1st and on consoles starting June 8, 2021.

The Elder Scrolls Online is currently available for PS4, Xbox One and PC, coming to Xbox Series X|S and PS5 on June 8, 2021.

More articles about The Elder Scrolls Online
blog comments powered by Disqus