Twelve Minutes

Platform(s): PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X
Genre: Action/Adventure
Publisher: Annapurna Interactive
Developer: Luis Antonio
Release Date: Aug. 19, 2021

About Rainier

PC gamer, WorthPlaying EIC, globe-trotting couch potato, patriot, '80s headbanger, movie watcher, music lover, foodie and man in black -- squirrel!


As an Amazon Associate, we earn commission from qualifying purchases.

'Twelve Minutes' Gets Xbox And PC Release Date, On Xbox Game Pass At Launch - Trailer

by Rainier on June 13, 2021 @ 5:23 p.m. PDT

Twelve Minutes is an interactive narrative that blends the dream-like tension of The Shining with the claustrophobia of Read Window and the fragmented structure of Memento.

Twelve Minutes is an interactive thriller about a man trapped in a time loop, a fresh take on the thriller genre, where players are asked to take part in a compelling story centered around a shocking crime which they must help solve. The game subverts the ideas of what play should feel like and will present players with a truly unique experience. 

In this interactive thriller, a man’s romantic evening with his wife is interrupted by a violent home invasion. The man tries to stop the attacker and gets knocked out only to immediately find himself back to the start of the evening, stuck in a time loop of 12 minutes and doomed to relive the same terror again and again.

Players must find a way to use the knowledge of what’s coming to change the outcome and break the loop.

Annapurna Interactive announced that Twelve Minutes will launch on August 19, 2021 on Xbox Game Pass, as well as PC (Steam and the Windows Store), Xbox Series X|S, and Xbox One.

The Twelve Minutes ensemble will include Golden Globe nominee James McAvoy (“It Chapter 2” “Split,” “X Men Franchise”) , Daisy Ridley (“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker,” “Star Wars: Episode VIII The Last Jedi,” “Star Wars: Episode VII The Force Awakens,” “Murder on the Orient Express”) and four-time Academy Award nominee Willem Dafoe (“The Lighthouse”, “At Eternity’s Gate,” “The Florida Project”).

The characters are nameless throughout the experience; “the man” is voiced by James McAvoy, “the woman” is voiced by Daisy Ridley, and “the intruder” is voiced by Willem Dafoe. 

Twelve Minutes is Luis Antonio’s game directing debut. He is known for his work as senior 3-D artist for the BAFTA Games award-winning The Witness; his earlier work includes art director at Ubisoft and 3-D artist at Rockstar Games. Annapurna Interactive has an expansive portfolio of critically acclaimed games including Sayonara Wild Hearts, Kentucky Route Zero: TV Edition, Florence and the winners of the BAFTA Game Awards: Best Game award - Outer Wilds and What Remains of Edith Finch. 

Twelve Minutes will be releasing for PC, Xbox Series X and Xbox One (Xbox Game Pass) on August 19, 2021.

More articles about Twelve Minutes
blog comments powered by Disqus